Spirit Energy alternative for UK care home solar

An honest comparison of UK care home solar specialists in 2026. Spirit Energy is one of the strongest names in the sector — particularly for B&M Care and St Michael's Hospice. This page sets out the differences between Spirit Energy and SEO Dons and helps you decide which is right for your home.

Side-by-side comparison

Feature Spirit Energy SEO Dons
Business modelInstalling contractorIndependent specialist guide + installer matching
Commercial installs delivered6,000+ (all sectors)Delivered by matched MCS-certified installers — we don't claim install counts of our own
Care home installs published~5 named case studies12 worked examples (clearly-labelled illustrative composites from published data)
Sub-verticals covered as specialismCare homes (single page)10 sub-types — nursing / residential / dementia / retirement / sheltered / extra-care / hospice / assisted / supported / care villages
MCS commercial certification✓Held by every installer we match you with — verify at mcscertified.com
NICEIC + RECC + TrustMark✓Screened for across the matched installer network
Which? Trusted Trader✓RECC-equivalent consumer protection
Tesla Premium Installer✓—
Funding routes modelled in proposalPPA + Capex + HPAll 5 routes: PPA, Capex+AIA, HP, Operating lease, SHDF Wave 2.2
CQC Well-led KLOE evidence packAvailable on requestStandard handover deliverable
SECR Scope 2 reporting documentationAvailableAnnual delivery + BEIS methodology note
SHDF Wave 2.2 application draftingNot statedNo-fee element of install contract (conditional on grant award)
Dementia-friendly install inductionNot statedMandatory site induction for all install personnel
LFP-only battery for vulnerable settingsNot statedNon-negotiable specification policy
Listed Building Consent pathwayAvailableHeritage consultant network
Group operator portfolio rollout22-site B&M programmeModelled 14-site and 22-site worked examples (illustrative composites)
Typical PPA tariffNot publicly disclosed8–14p/kWh (benchmarked across 5 UK providers)
AIA tax shield modellingMentionedWorked example in every proposal
50% First Year Allowance modellingNot prominentStandard for groups spending >£1m/year
Care England framework participation—Benchmarked against
Dedicated SERP ranking position#2 for "solar panels for care homes"EMD targeting same keyword

When Spirit Energy is the right choice

Spirit Energy has done more publicly-visible care home work than any UK solar installer. If your decision criteria emphasise:

  • PR-validated case studies — Spirit's B&M Care and St Michael's Hospice deployments are publicly documented
  • Tesla Premium Installer status for battery storage
  • Which? Trusted Trader badge as primary consumer-trust signal
  • Largest UK national reach — they install across all UK regions with consistent national delivery

...then Spirit Energy is a strong choice.

When SEO Dons is the right choice

Where our specialism in care home solar sub-verticals matters:

  • Sub-vertical-specific install protocol — different protocols for nursing vs dementia vs hospice vs care village. Each has its own install induction, scheduling rules, and documentation pack.
  • SHDF Wave 2.2 application drafting — for housing-association-owned sheltered, extra-care, supported-living schemes. We write the PVSyst + SAP modelling and application narrative.
  • Multi-route funding analysis as standard — every quote models all 5 funding routes (PPA / Capex+AIA / HP / Lease / SHDF) side-by-side.
  • CQC Well-led evidence pack as standard handover — drops directly into your inspection file. Outstanding-rated inspection reports increasingly cite visible sustainability action, including installed solar.
  • Group operator AIA + FYA optimisation — worked through tax-year-by-tax-year capex allocation for groups spending £1m+ annually.
  • Listed building network — pre-engaged heritage consultants for Mayfair / West End / period-conversion care homes.
  • LFP-only battery policy — non-negotiable for vulnerable-occupant settings. We don't quote NMC.

Where we differ on price

We don't compete on headline price. UK commercial solar pricing across MCS-certified installers within a £600–£950/kWp range; both Spirit and SEO Dons typically quote in the £650–£800/kWp range for typical care home installs (50–200 kWp scale). The pricing differences are structural — funding-route modelling, tax-shield optimisation, and grant-application support add 5–25% to the operator's effective net economics depending on the route chosen, regardless of headline £/kWp.

Our recommendation: get a quote from Spirit, get a quote from us, compare the effective net economics including tax shields and grant-funding routes. The headline £/kWp price is rarely the bottom-line determinant.

What we'd say to an operator deciding between us

If you've already engaged Spirit and they've delivered a strong proposal that fits your timeline and budget — there's no need to switch on principle. They're a good operator with strong references.

If you want a second quote that benchmarks against the funding-route depth above, or if you operate one of the 10 sub-verticals where we have dedicated documentation, or if you're a housing-association RP looking at SHDF Wave 2.2 — start a conversation with us.

Other UK care home solar specialists worth knowing

Beyond Spirit Energy and ourselves, the UK SERP top 10 for "solar panels for care homes" also includes Sun-Lite, ProStar Energy, 1Vision Solar, and Marley (the roofing brand). Howden ranks #3 with an insurance-risk-focused article. Geo Green Power ranks at #10 with a single case study, not a sector page. For a wider competitor view, see our case studies and buyer's guide which set out the wider sector context.

Quote in 7 working days

Want a second-opinion quote?

Send us your home details. We'll model the same install Spirit (or any other UK installer) quoted, with all 5 funding routes side-by-side, and you can compare on a like-for-like basis.

  • ✓ Independent, sector-specific guidance across all 10 care home sub-verticals
  • ✓ Honest "no" if your site doesn't suit solar — we'll say so before you commit
  • ✓ All funding routes modelled (PPA, AIA, hire purchase, lease, SHDF)
  • ✓ Resident-safe install protocols (dementia-friendly induction, LFP-only batteries)

No commitment. We reply within 1 working day.

Continue your research

Care home solar is a multi-dimensional decision. These pages cover the questions operators ask most often:

How this site works

  • Independent specialist guidance
  • Sourced 2026 rates & grant data — last reviewed July 2026
  • Free matched quotes from MCS-certified installers
  • No installer agenda, no commission bias
Costs & payback Get free quote