ProStar Energy alternative for UK care home solar

ProStar Energy ranks at #5 in Google SERP for "solar panels for care homes" with their nursing-and-retirement-homes sector page. This comparison sets out the differences between ProStar Energy and SEO Dons for UK care home operators.

Side-by-side comparison

Feature ProStar Energy SEO Dons
UK geographic reachSouthern England focusUK-wide (all 4 nations + 6 DNO regions)
Care home sub-vertical pages1 (nursing/retirement)10 dedicated sub-types
Headline payback claim2-year (optimistic)4–5 year typical, 3–4 year with SHDF match (honest)
Funding routes modelledPPA + CapexAll 5 routes (PPA / Capex+AIA / HP / Lease / SHDF Wave 2.2)
CQC Well-led KLOE evidence packNot statedStandard handover deliverable
SECR / TCFD / GRESB reporting documentationNot statedAnnual delivery
50% First Year Allowance modelling for groupsNot statedStandard for groups spending >£1m/year
SHDF Wave 2.2 application draftingNot statedNo-fee element of install contract (conditional on grant award)
Resident-safety LFP-only battery policyNot statedNon-negotiable specification policy
MCS + NICEIC + RECC + TrustMarkRECC + Trustmark + MCS notedHeld/screened across the matched MCS-certified installer network
50+ years renewable energy experienceClaimedWe don't trade on years-in-business claims — judge any installer on modelling quality, documentation and verifiable certification

The 2-year payback claim

ProStar's published "Achieve Payback In 2 Years" headline claim merits investigation. Across the UK commercial solar market in 2026, typical care home solar payback periods are 4–6 years on capital purchase, dropping to 3–4 years on capital purchase with AIA tax shield, or 3 years effective on RP-owned SHDF Wave 2.2-funded schemes (50% match funding).

A 2-year payback is technically possible only in specific edge cases — very small installs on homes with exceptional self-consumption (90%+), or homes paying significantly above-market commercial electricity tariffs (40p+/kWh, vs 27p typical). We don't claim 2-year payback as a typical outcome because in our experience it is not typical. Honest modelling is the right approach for board-level commercial decision-making.

When ProStar Energy is the right choice

If your decision criteria emphasise:

  • Southern England geographic focus — ProStar has strong local presence in their core operating region
  • Single-site nursing or retirement home install — ProStar markets specifically to this audience
  • Direct + PPA dual-route offer — ProStar offers both Capex and PPA

When SEO Dons is the right choice

Where UK-wide reach + sub-vertical depth matters:

  • You operate UK-wide or outside Southern England — we cover all 4 UK nations and 6 DNO regions
  • You operate multiple sub-verticals — separate documentation packs for nursing vs dementia vs hospice etc.
  • You're an RP planning SHDF Wave 2.2 application — we write the PVSyst + SAP modelling and application narrative
  • You're a group operator spending £1m+ on solar annually — AIA + 50% FYA tax-year-by-tax-year optimisation as standard
  • You want honest payback expectations — typical care home payback 4–5 years on capex + AIA, not 2 years
  • You operate vulnerable-occupant settings — LFP-only battery policy + PEEP integration as non-negotiable spec

The honest recommendation

Get both quotes. ProStar's regional strength in Southern England is real. Our UK-wide reach + sub-vertical depth + SHDF application capability addresses different decision criteria. Compare the proposals side-by-side — particularly the funding-route modelling and the documentation pack each firm includes.

Quote in 7 working days

Get a second-opinion quote

Send us your home details. We'll model the same install ProStar (or any other UK installer) quoted, with all 5 funding routes side-by-side, and you can compare on a like-for-like basis.

  • ✓ Independent, sector-specific guidance across all 10 care home sub-verticals
  • ✓ Honest "no" if your site doesn't suit solar — we'll say so before you commit
  • ✓ All funding routes modelled (PPA, AIA, hire purchase, lease, SHDF)
  • ✓ Resident-safe install protocols (dementia-friendly induction, LFP-only batteries)

No commitment. We reply within 1 working day.

Continue your research

Care home solar is a multi-dimensional decision. These pages cover the questions operators ask most often:

How this site works

  • Independent specialist guidance
  • Sourced 2026 rates & grant data — last reviewed July 2026
  • Free matched quotes from MCS-certified installers
  • No installer agenda, no commission bias
Costs & payback Get free quote